26, Bamenda Crescent, Wuse Zone 3, Abuja, Nigeria.
Monday - Friday 08:00-16:00


AAAJD > Governance

Our Objectives

To advance justice in public safety, gender rights, election systems, and governance from a multicultural perspective and a south-south approach.
To generate knowledge and tools that fit local needs while promoting global rights standards.
To strengthen local and regional ..More

Our Mission

To draw on south-south partnerships for synthesizing evidence-based local knowledge for providing an inclusive perspective to ‘secure development’. It will generate local need-based knowledge, strengthen regional networks and implement innovative practices/models for change in collaboration with government institutions and civil society.


Afro-Asian Association for Justice Development is managed by its Board of Directors, which is constituted of three board members from CLEEN and two from IDC. As the interests of each Member Organisation and the actual places of acting of each managing director of the Board of Directors are spread over separate continents, they as well as the Board of Directors find it appropriate and necessary to set task partition or task distribution rules or guidelines defined in its Association Policy.

The board members are Prof. Etannibi Alemika (Chairperson), Prof. Pramod Kumar, Mr. Satish Sharma, Dr. Benson Olugbuo and Ms. Blessing Abiri.

Prof. Etannibi Alemika


Etannibi E.O. ALEMIKA is a Professor of Law in Criminology and Sociology at the University of Jos, Nigeria. His areas of competence are research, teaching, policing, organized crime, security sector reform, governance, human rights, democracy, conflict studies, criminal justice policy and reform.

He has published widely in the areas of crime, police and policing, prisons, criminal justice, drug policy, security sector governance and organized crime in reputable journals like Journal of Criminal Justice; International Journal of Comparative and Applied Criminal Justice; Policy Studies; International Journal of Offender Therapy and Comparative Criminology, and Crime, Law and Social Change. He has considerable experience working with the police, prisons, intelligence department, and other security agencies in Nigeria and several international organizations and networks.

Prof Pramod Kumar


Prof. Pramod Kumar is Director, Institute for Development and Communication (IDC), Chandigarh. He has been appointed as Chairperson of the Haryana Governance reforms Authority (HGRA) from 2017. He was also the Chairman of Punjab Governance Reforms Commission (PGRC-II) from March 2012 to 2017. His work focuses on three interrelated themes of politics of development, violence and governance; politics of conflict management and resolution and practice of democracy through empirical methodologies and analysis of public policy and peoples movements. He is a recipient of the prestigious Homi Bhabha Award for the year 1988-1990.

DGP S K Sharma (retd)


DGP S K Sharma (retd) is a Punjab (India) former Director General of Police has been actively involved in Police Station reforms and has headed the community policing partnership program of the Punjab State – The Saanj Kendras.

Dr. Benson Olugbuo


Benson Chinedu Olugbuo holds a Ph.D. in Public Law from the University of Cape Town, South Africa. He is a Solicitor and Advocate of the Supreme Court of Nigeria with more than fifteen years post call experience in international criminal justice.

He was a Fox International Fellow and Visiting Assistant in Research at the Whitney and Betty MacMillan Center for International and Area Studies at Yale University, United States of America (2011-2012) and the Anglophone Africa Coordinator for the NGO Coalition for the International Criminal Court (2004-2009). He has published widely on justice sector reform, international criminal justice and human rights in Africa.

Ms. Blessing Abiri


Blessing Abiri holds an LL.M degree in Human Rights from the Central European University (CEU), Budapest, Hungary. She is a Solicitor and Advocate of the Supreme Court of Nigeria. Her work experience spans across issues on Police Accountability, Criminal Justice and Human rights.

She is an Open Society Justice Initiative Fellow (2010 – 2012).  She has also been involved in publishing articles on policing accountability, domestic violence, and human rights.